Man-Booker Prize Winners - By the Decade

Assorted books or authors in one topic
User avatar
Major eBook Poster
Posts: 573
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 2:04 am

Man-Booker Prize Winners - By the Decade

Post by SickoSocko » Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:17 pm


Man-Booker Prize Winners - By the Decade

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction (formerly known as the Booker–McConnell Prize and commonly known simply as the Booker Prize) is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in the UK. The winner of the Man Booker Prize is generally assured international renown and success; therefore, the prize is of great significance for the book trade. From its inception, only novels written by Commonwealth, Irish, and South African (and later Zimbabwean) citizens were eligible to receive the prize; in 2014, however, this eligibility was widened to any English-language novel—a change which proved controversial.
A high-profile literary award in British culture, the Booker Prize is greeted with great anticipation and fanfare.

The Lost Man Booker Prize was a special edition of the Man Booker Prize awarded by a public vote in 2010 to a novel from 1970 as the books published in 1970 were not eligible for the Man Booker Prize due to a rules alteration; until 1970 the prize was awarded to books published in the previous year, while from 1971 onwards it was awarded to books published the same year as the award. The prize was won by J. G. Farrell for Troubles.


The 1970s:

1969-Something to Answer For - P.H. Newby
1970-The Elected Member - Bernice Rubens
1971-In a Free State - V. S. Naipaul
1972-G - John Berger
1973-The Siege of Krishnapur - J. G. Farrell
1974-Holiday - Stanley Middleton
1974-The Conserevationist - Nadine Gordimier
1975-Heat and Dust - Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
1976-Saville - David Storey
1977-Staying On - Paul Scott
1978-The Sea, The Sea - Iris Murdoch
1979-Offshore - Penelope Fitzgerald
The Lost Prize:
1970-Troubles - J.G. Farrell(Lost Prize)

(File = 8.11 mb)


The 1980s:

1980-Rites of Passage - William Golding
1981-Midnight's Children - Salman Rushdie
1982-Schindler's Ark(Schindler's List) - Thomas Keneally
1983-Life & Times of Michael K. - J. M. Coetzee
1984-Hotel du Lac - Anita Brookner
1985-The Bone People - Keri Hulme
1986-The Old Devils - Kingsley Amis
1987-Moon Tiger - Penelope Lively
1988-Oscar and Lucinda - Peter Carey
1989-The Remains of the Day - Kazuo Ishiguro

(File = 5.64 mb)


The 1990s:

1990-Possession - A.S. Byatt
1991-The Famished Road - Ben Okri
1992-Sacred Hunger - Barry Unsworth
1992-The English Patient - Michael Ondaatje
1993-Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha - Roddy Doyle
1994-How Late It Was How Late - James Kelman
1995-The Ghost Road - Pat Barker
1996-Last Orders - Graham Swift
1997-The God of Small Things - Arundhati Roy
1998-Amsterdam - Ian McEwan
1999-Disgrace - J. M. Coetzee

(File = 4.11 mb)



2000-The Blind Assassin - Margaret Atwood
2001-True History of the Kelly Gang - Peter Carey
2002-Life of Pi - Yann Martel
2003-Vernon God Little - D.B.C. Pierre
2004-The Line of Beauty - Alan Hollinghurst
2005-The Sea - John Banville
2006-The Inheritance of Loss - Kiran Desai
2007-The Gathering - Anne Enright
2008-The White Tiger - Aravind Adiga
2009-Wolf Hall - Hilary Mantel

(File = 7.40 mb)